Sunday, June 15, 2008

Summer of the Sequels - Percy Jackson and the Olympians

This started out as one blog, but as it grew to four pages in Word, with still more to go, I thought I would break it up a bit.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians (series) by Rick Riordan

We first meet Percy in the book The Lightning Thief. Poor Percy has been to multiple schools, but has never managed to fit in well. He gets in trouble and does poorly in his classes. When we meet him, he starts to wonder if there is something strange going on with one of his teachers. And then, while on a class trip, he gets attacked by horrible winged creatures. Good thing his Latin teacher tosses him a Bic Pen. Strange how it turned into a sword ...and even stranger that Percy seems to be a natural at wielding it. Turns out Percy is not who he thought he was; he is instead the son of a god and a mortal woman. Percy gets sent to Camp Half-Blood where he learns to follow his destiny...and journeys on some amazing quests.

I would highly recommend this series for adults, especially the first book, the Lightning Thief. Fans of "O Brother Where Art Thou" will appreciate the modern variations on classic myths.

Series Titles:
Lightning Thief
Sea of Monsters: Percy and friends set off and brave the Bermuda Triangle to rescue Grover from the Cyclops and find the Golden Fleece.
Titan's Curse: Percy, Grover, Annabeth, and Thalia are led by the oracle on a cross country quest in hopes of saving one of their own.


Battle of the Labyrinth: Camp Half-Blood’s security is threatened by the invading army of Kronos. Percy and pals set out on yet another quest, this time through the Labyrinth. I haven’t read this yet, but Freddy finished it in under a day and Owen in two. I better read it soon or there will be no end to their mockery!

No comments: